I have been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award!

My good friend from Twitter, Debi Smith, who blogs here, has very kindly nominated me for a Versatile Blogger award. I feel very lucky to have met so many wonderful new people through Twitter and through my own blog here. Debi and I share a love of great music and she still has the best way of saying thank you for retweeting I have come across in the twitter sphere. Check her out on Twitter – @DebiVSmith – and you’ll see what I mean. So a big thank you to Debi for nominating me.

The rules state that I now have to tag/nominate 15 other blogs I follow. I remember doing a similar thing once before and finding it very difficult to list 15 blogs that I would recommend to my readers but the job was much easier this time. So I hereby nominate these wonderful people and their blogs: Marianne Power who blogs over at Help Me! blog about her year long quest to see if self-help really can change your life; Helena Fairfax who blogs about her life as a romance author and insatiable book lover; Cat Lumb who blogs about her struggle to be a writer; John de Gruyther who blogs about his life and work as a freelance writer and poet; Heidi-Jo Swain who blogs about her romance writing and her path to publication; Rachel Stirling who blogs about her life as a writer and illustrator; Bernadette O’Dwyer who blogs about her journey as an aspiring romance author; Joe Johnson who blogs honestly about his love of cycling and his writing life; Elizabeth Ducie who is a full-time writer and blogs about her writing life, including interviews with other writers; Julia Proofreader, who works as a proofreader, as her name suggests and comes highly recommended; Terry Tyler who blogs about her life as a successful independent author and self-publishing in general; Mark Barry who is also a successful independent author and generously interviews other writers on his blog; Ruth Livingstone who blogs about her life as a fiction writer and blogger; JorieLovesaStory who is a book blogger and writer and loves everything to do with books and reading, and Helen Carey who is a successful author, avid reader and also teaches creative writing at University level. I know that you will enjoy reading their blogs as much as I do.

All that remains now is for me to tell you seven things about myself that you don’t already know!

1. Next year, I will be 50 years old! This has crept up on me, as I’m sure many of you reading this will understand and has left me thinking that I need to get on with some things. I don’t really feel like I’m nearly 50 (see point 2 below!), not mentally anyway! Physically though, is quite a different matter.

 

 

ac1b0510a7a284de3a8ab2b3ea5fc350

2. I have 2 daughters, aged 17 and 13. I know, I don’t look old enough ;) I have to confess a bit of a secret here. The avatar on my Twitter bio was taken when I turned 40! Still, people recognise me when they meet me in real life so it can’t be too out of date, although I do have some grey hairs now :) I suppose you want me to put in a more up-to-date photo now, don’t you? I’ll see if I can find one I like by the time I turn 50!

 

 

 

Nashville guitar

3. I want to go to Nashville, Tennessee to celebrate my 50th birthday. Look at this wonderful photo advertising Nashville to tourists. Now, the question is, does it remind you of any other photos you might have seen on my site? If you’re interested, I have a whole board on Pinterest dedicated to Nashville and my debut novel. Here’s the link.

 

 

 

DSCN8672

4. My favourite meal at the moment is Chicken and Chorizo paella and my husband bought me an enormous paella dish for my birthday this year so we can cook lots of it! We christened the pan with our family just after we got back from New York at Easter this year and it was a truly wonderful occasion.

 

 

dia_0007

5. Photography is one of the great pleasures of my life. I was given my first Kodak camera aged 10 and have been steadily taking photos ever since. The only thing getting in my way is point number 6 (see below) but I’m persevering and trying not to let it stop me. Here’s a photo from the colour folio I had to produce when I was working on a Photography diploma a few years ago.

 

6. I have a lazy right eye and so I wear only the one contact lens in my left eye. I am really vain about wearing glasses but I am fast approaching the time when I will no longer have a choice :( I currently have 2 pairs of glasses and I even have one of those chains for hanging them on (at my own request) but I hate it. It makes me feel so old! Next week, I’m going to try a multi-focal contact lens to see if they’ve improved since the last time I tried them. No photo here for obvious reasons ;)

 

DSCN8766

7. My favourite modern romance story is ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’ by Audrey Niffenegger. My favourite classic play is ‘Romeo and Juliet’. My favourite classic love story is ‘Jane Eyre’ and one of my favourite romantic films is ‘Truly, Madly, Deeply.’ As you can probably guess, I like love stories that make me cry :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Julie Stock and My Writing Life, 2013 – 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Julie Stock and My Writing Life with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on “I have been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award!

    • My pleasure! I’m glad you enjoyed my post. I look forward to reading yours :) Thanks for your good wishes too.

    • Thank you :) You really should check out these blogs, Rebecca, they’re all interesting in their own way. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  1. Thank you for nominating me! Re your first point, I’d just like to say that when you get ‘over the hump’ it’s much better – I was depressed about being 50, but my sister assured me that it gets better once you get the wretched menopause out of the way – and she was RIGHT! Yes, I’d love to be able to lose weight with the ease I could when I was 30, not have grey hair and gammy knees, but on the whole I like it better. At 52, I got married for the 3rd time, and started publishing on Amazon, so there was life in the old dog, after all!

    • Oh, Terry, you make me laugh out loud! And I needed a bit of cheering up so thank you :) I have definitely been struggling with a few of those things, some worse than others, but generally, I’m not worried about my age in and of itself. You are an inspiration though and you’ve made me feel more optimistic again. So thank you, as always :)

  2. Congratulations, I see you’ve tagged some of the bloggers I was hoping to get for the next round of mine. Liked your list of self disclosures. I don’t go in for romance – thought I didn’t – but I’m with you on those favourite films and books. Ha, ha, 50 Is beginning to seem young to me!

    • Thanks, Anne, for reading and commenting. It is quite difficult finding people who haven’t already been tagged. I was quite lucky with my list.

      Maybe we’re all romantics at heart ;) I must admit, I don’t feel like turning 50 will make me ‘old’ but what goes on in my mind is another thing altogether!

Leave a Reply

